Nigeria Naira Exchange Rates

Join Aynaijablog Free Newsletter Signup free today, be the first to get notified on Latest News

Monday, 24 July 2017

Southwest Governors Meet in Abeokuta to address challenges confronting the region (Photos)

A meeting of the Six South-West governors went successful for tending to challenges standing
up to the region and additionally defining objectives towards guaranteeing accomplishment of the region has initiated at the MITROS Gateway Annex, Ibara, Abeokuta.The meeting which is rotated quarterly amongst the south west states would have taken place on Monday, 24th April, 2017 but for the death of erstwhile Director General of the DAWN Commission, Dipo Famakinwa.
A minute silence was observed by the governors in honour of the Late Famakinwa who was described as an illustrious son of the region who has been so passionate about the region's development.
Ogun State Governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun who hosted other Southwest governors under the platform of Development Agenda for Western Nigeria(DAWN) in his opening address said deputy governors and commissioners/
advisers in relevant ministries has maintained communications to achieve desired result.
The DAWN Commission is the dedicated technocratic institution for the sustainable development of the Southwest Region. It was set up by the Governments of the Southwest States of Nigeria as the institutional and programme management body to midwife their Regional Integration Agenda.
Senator Amosun who highlighted educational and infrastructural developments achieved in the region under the leadership of first premier of the Western Region of Nigeria, Late Chief Obafemi lamented how creation of states has created artificial boundaries amongst south westerners instead of protecting sovereignty of the Southwest region.
The Ogun State Governor however said time to harness the socio economic benefits of the region for human, material and infrastructural development of the south west people have come.
At the meeting which has proceeded into a closed session are Ekiti State Governor, Mr. Ayodele Fayose, Lagos State Governor, Mr. Akinwumi Ambode, the host, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, latest entrant to the forum and Ondo State Governor, Arakunrin Rotimi Akeredolu, Osun State governor, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola and the Oyo State Governor, Senator Isiaka Ajimobi.
Reporter;Bola Agboola


Post a Comment


Copyright © 2014 Latest News in Nigeria Today & Latest Nigeria Entertainment News • All Rights Reserved.
Template Design by BTDesigner Published.. Blogger Templates • Powered by Blogger
back to top